Something very odd happened yesterday.

To sum my day up; I cycled to work (18 miles), 8 hour shift, cycled home. I’d eaten lunch, a snack bar for breakfast, dinner. I’d drunk a bottle of lucozade, 2 bottles of water, 2 hot chocolates. I went to band. Around 19:30 I started to feel odd; my pulse was up, I was shaky. Decided to see if it would behave itself. No improvement, made the decision to rehearse (I wasn’t going to drive anywhere in that state anyway). Around 21:00 it was unmanageable; I was uncontrollably shaking, I was having flushes, my pulse was 140, I felt like I was made of lead. I couldn’t think. I went out followed by the cardiac nurse (I sit next to one, it couldn’t have been planned any better) who was thinking I was getting flu which would put abnormal strain on my heart as any illness does…

… my diabetic best friend was texting me and said to test my blood glucose levels. 

3.2. 

If anyone could shed any light on this, I would be very grateful. There is no way I should have been low. I’m quite perplexed by this. The flushes and shaking mostly stopped after someone threw some haribo at me, but my heart is still feeling weird today (no I’m not at work). 

I’m not overly concerned about this, I’m just confused. My blood glucose had no feasible reason to be low. So why was I technically hypoglycemic? I may need to do some research and questioning. 

Leave a Reply

